As the Page Turns

Book reviews from Mrs. Dougherty's class

The Liars” Club by Mary Karr

Leave a comment

Genre: Non-fiction
Rating: ☆☆☆☆, I love this!
Total number of pages: 390

Review by: Tyson
My current book type: Historical fiction/characters different/character-driven/comfortable

Why I chose this book: I chose this book because I’d heard that it was shocking and funny and that it opened up a whole new genre in a way– the memoir of the messed-up childhood. I was curious to see what was so powerful about this book, that it made people want to write and read about events that were so painful at a time in their lives when they were so vulnerable.

Is this book what I expected? This book is both what I expected and not. It IS funny and heartbreaking all at once; it’s written well and is about surviving and finding something in life worth living for. But at the same time, it’s not a novel like I’m used to reading. I can tell that this book might not provide me with the poetic ending I’ve come to expect when I read, mostly because I read fiction usually.

Three words that describe THE MOOD this book:
undefined

Leave a Reply

